1. Home
  2. Docs
  3. Available Guides
  4. DollyDrive 2
  5. 1.3 Cloud Backup

1.3 Cloud Backup

How DollyDrive Backs Up

DollyDrive offers incremental, versioned backup. It sounds complicated, but it means you get the fastest, most convenient, and most useful backup possible.

Incremental means that DollyDrive only backs up what’s new since your last backup. So while your fist backup might take several hours (or even days), subsequent backups will be much, much fast. In fact, you might not even notice them happening at all. The first time you backup, Dolly has to make a copy of everything. But the second time, (and every time after that) Dolly intelligently skips all the files that haven’t changed since your last backup, and only copies of the data that is new or different since your last backup.

Versioned means that DollyDrive doesn’t just write over an older version of your file with the newer version. Dolly keeps them both, and all the other ones, too. That way, if you make a bunch of changes to a file one day, and then decide later that you want to get rid of those changes, instead of undoing all of that work, you can use your Cloud Backup to retrieve an earlier version of the file. It’s simple!

A note about data security: Cloud Backup securely backs up files to our servers in the cloud using 256-bit SSL encryption, so your files are always safe with DollyDrive.

Starting Your Cloud Backup

To start your Cloud Backup, open the DollyDrive Status Bar and click Start Cloud Backup. DollyDrive will begin scanning your system, and uploading files to DollyDrive’s servers. By default, Cloud Backup is configured to back up your entire user folder, located at Users/username. If you’d like to restrict your Cloud Backups to a subset of your files, use Dolly’s Inclusions and Exclusions. See the DollyDrive Preferences section of this manual for more details on configuring your backup.

If you prefer to backup your Mac automatically, use the Scheduler options in DollyDrive Preferences to set up the regular automatic backups.

Once a backup begins, the Status Bar will update with information about your in-progress backup. Progress bars will appear for files as they are backed up to DollyDrive’s servers. If you need to stop a backup, simply click Stop Cloud Backup. Your next backup will automatically pick up right where you left off.

Restoring Files From Your Backup

To restore files, open the Cloud Backup pane in the Status Bar, and click Open Cloud Backup. DollyDrive displays your files grouped by the application that created it. To see a particular group of files, simply double-click on an application to see all of its files. To see more of less onscreen at once, use the Zoom slider in the lower-left corner of the window.

 

The list on the left side shows each of your backups. Click on a date to quickly drill down to backups from a particular day or time.

You can also browse backups using Icon or List View by clicking the appropriate View button above the date list.

To restore a file, find the file you’d like to restore from your backup, and click the Restore button in the upper-right corner of the window. Depending on your settings in Cloud Backup Preferences, DollyDrive will restore your files to your designated Restore Destination, or to the original location.

 

 

If you attempt to restore a file, and there is already a file with that name in the restore location, DollyDrive will ask you to SkipKeep both, or Overwrite the file. Choosing Keep both will append the restored filename with _restore so that you’ll be able to tell the duplicate files apart. Skip will cancel restore for that file, and Overwrite will replace the existing file with the version you are restoring.

Was this article helpful to you? Yes No

How can we help?