1. Home
  2. Docs
  3. Available Guides
  4. DollyDrive 2
  5. 1.5 Local Backup

1.5 Local Backup

Local Backup functions identically to Cloud Backup. The only difference is that Local Backup copies data to a local hard drive, instead of DollyDrive’s secure cloud.

Set Your Backup Destination

Before you start a Local Backup, you’ll need to set a Backup Destination in Preferences. For more, see DollyDrive Preferences.

Starting Your Local Backup

To start your Local Backup, open the DollyDrive Status Bar and click Start Local Backup. DollyDrive will begin scanning your system and backing up your data. By default, Local Backup is configured to back up your entire user folder, located at Users/username. If you’d like to restrict your Local Backups to a subset of your files, use Dolly’s Inclusions and Exclusions. See the DollyDrive Preferences section of this manual for more details on configuring your backup.

If you prefer to backup your Mac automatically, use the Scheduler options in DollyDrive Preferences to set up regular automatic backups.

Once a backup begins, the Status Bar will update with information about your in-progress backup. Progress bars will appear for files as they are backed up. If you need to stop a backup, simply click Stop Local Backup. Your next backup will automatically pick up right where you left off.

Restoring Files From Your Backup

To restore files, open the Local Backup pane in the Status Bar, and click Open Local Backup. DollyDrive displays your files grouped by the application that created it. To see a particular group of files, simply double-click on an application to see all of its files. To see more or less onscreen at once, use the Zoom slider in the lower-left corner of the window.

The list on the left side shows each of your backups. Click on a date to quickly drill down to backups from a particular day or time.

You can also browse backups using Icon or List View by clicking the appropriate View button above the date list.

To restore a file, find the file you’d like to restore from your backup, and click the Restore button in the upper-right corner of the window. Depending on your settings in Local Backup Preferences, DollyDrive will restore your files to your designated Restore Destination, or to the original location.

 

If you attempt to restore a file, and there is already a file with that name in the restore location, DollyDrive will ask if you want to Skip, Keep both, or Overwrite the file. Choosing Keep both will append the restored filename with _restore so that you’ll be able to tell the duplicate files apart. Skip will cancel restore for that file, and Overwrite will replace the existing file with the version you are restoring.

Was this article helpful to you? Yes No

How can we help?