1. Home
  2. Docs
  3. Available Guides
  4. DollyDrive 3
  5. 1.2 DollyDrive Preferences

1.2 DollyDrive Preferences

In DollyDrive 3.0, all your preferences are consolidated into one location.

Accessing Preferences

To access Preferences, click the DollyDrive Status Bar icon, then click the gears in the upper-left corner. Choose Preferences.

Using the new Preferences window

Preference settings for each of the DollyDrive services can be set in this window. To change preference settings for a particular service, click its icon in the left-hand column, and adjust preferences on the right. Use the tabs at the top of the screen to move between groups of related preferences.

Cloud Backup Preferences

By default, DollyDrive will back up your entire user folder, which is located at Users/username. To adjust your backup, use the Backup tab.

To add an item to your backup, check the box next to an item. Click the arrow next to a folder or volume to reveal its contents.

When you’re done adding Inclusions, click Save, or Cancel to leave your backup setting unchanged.

Scheduler Preferences

The Scheduler tab allows you to specify when and how often you want DollyDrive to backup the cloud. By default, the scheduler is off, and DollyDrive will update your Cloud Backup in real-time.

To set up scheduled backups, slide the switch to On. DollyDrive will back up between the Start and Stop times that your specify.

When you’re done configuring your backup schedule, click Save, or Cancel to leave your backup settings unchanged.

Restore Preferences

The Restore tab lets you set a destination for restored files. Check the box for Restore to origin location if you want to restore backed up files to the same location as the original file. Alternately, you can specify a single location for all restored files. To specify a location, uncheck the box, and click the folder icon. Navigate to your preferred restore location, and click Open.

Show hidden files in restore views allows you to toggle between showing and hiding invisible files. In most cases, leave the box unchecked.

You won’t need to use the Rebuild Backups Cache button unless directed to DollyDrive support staff.

When you’re done, click Save, or Cancel to leave your backup settings unchanged.

Advanced Preferences

Only change settings in the Advanced tab if you know what you are doing.

To change the number of files DollyDrive backs up simultaneously, increase Max Parallel Executions. You can also increase the Chunk Size. Increasing these numbers will increase the speed of your Dolly backup, but it will also use more resources on your Mac. To lower the bandwidth used by DollyDrive, you can lower these numbers below their default settings.

Please do not change the DollyDrive Revo Api Server setting unless advised by support.

When you’re done adjusting preferences, click Save, or Cancel to leave your backup settings unchanged.

Space Preferences

Please do not change Space preferences unless advised by support.

Clone Preferences

By default, your clone will need to be updated manually, but you can turn on hourly or daily backups.

If you can use an hourly clone, keep in mind that cloning can be a lengthy process. If the update interval is shorter than the time that it takes for a clone to complete, DollyDrive will finish your clone, and then begin counting the elapsed time until the next clone process begins.

Remember that creating a clone will erase your entire destination drive.

Was this article helpful to you? Yes No

How can we help?