1. Home
  2. Docs
  3. Available Guides
  4. DollyDrive 3
  5. 1.3 Cloud Backup

1.3 Cloud Backup

How DollyDrive Backs Up

DollyDrive offers incremental, versioned backup. It sounds complicated, but it means you get the fastest, most convenient, and most useful backup possible.

Incremental means that DollyDrive only backs up what’s new since your last backup. So while your first backup might take several hours (or even days), subsequent backups will be much, much faster. In fact, you might not even notice them happening at all. The first time you back up, Dolly has to make a copy of everything. But the second time, (and every time after that) Dolly intelligently skips all the files that haven’t changed since your last backup, and only copies the data that is new or different since your last backup.

Versioned means that DollyDrive doesn’t just write over an older version of your file with the newer version. Dolly keeps them both, and all the other ones too. That way, if you make a bunch of changes to a file one day, and then decide later that you want to get rid of those changes, instead of undoing all of that work, you can use your Cloud Backup to retrieve an earlier version of the file. It’s simple!

A note about data security: Cloud Backup securely backs up files to our servers in the cloud using 256-but SSL encryption, so your files are always safe and secure with DollyDrive.

Starting Your Cloud Backup

To start your Cloud Backup, open the DollyDrive Status Bar and click Backup. Click Start Now, and DollyDrive will begin backing up your user folder. By default, Cloud Backup is configured to back up your entire user folder, located at Users/username. If you’d like to restrict your Cloud Backups to a subset of your files, see the DollyDrive Preferences section of this manual for more details on customizing your backup.

By default, DollyDrive will now back up your machine in real time, as files change on your Mac. You can use the Scheduler options in DollyDrive Preferences to customize your backup schedule.

Once a backup begins, the Status Bar will update with information about your in-progress backup. The progress bars will give you a visual guide to your backup, along with additional information about how many files are being backed up, and the size remaining in your current backup. If you need to pause a backup, simply click the Pause button. Your backups will start again when you click Resume.

Restore Files From Your Backup

To restore files, open the Cloud Backup pane in the Status Bar, and click Open Restore. DollyDrive displays your files grouped by the application that created it. To see a particular group of files, simply double-click on an application to see all of its files. To see more or less onscreen at once, use the Zoom slider in the lower-left corner of the window.

Use the list on the left to navigate your folders.

You can also browse backups using Icon or List View by clicking the appropriate View button above the folder list.

START HERE

To restore a file, find the file you’d like to restore from your backup, and click the Restore button. Depending on your settings in Cloud Backup Preferences, DollyDrive will restore your files to your designated Restore Destination, or to the original location. If there are multiple versions of a file in your backup, click on the number of versions on the right.

Select the version of the file you’d like to restore, and click Restore.

If you attempt to restore a file, are there is already a file with that name in the restore location, DollyDrive will ask if you want to Skip, Keep both, or Overwrite the file. Choosing Keep both will append the restored filename with _restore so that you’ll be able to tell the duplicate files apart. Skip will cancel restore for that file, and Overwrite will replace the existing file with the version you are restoring.

Was this article helpful to you? Yes No 1

How can we help?